Employees & Directors

Employees & Directors

Brown County Rural Electrical Association 2019 Board of Directors

Brown County REA Board of Directors,
L-R: Jim Mickelson, Brad Sprenger, Jim Hanson, Greg Mages, Tom Hayes, Bill Berg, Reuben Kokesch, Joel Christensen and Allen Hanson.

Board of Directors
President James Mickelson 507-794-6298            j.mickelson@bcrea.coop
Vice President William Berg 507-766-1497           b.berg@bcrea.coop               
Sec./Treas. James Hanson 507-829-6756            j.hanson@bcrea.coop
Brad Sprenger 507-877-2633                                b.sprenger@bcrea.coop                       
Allen Hanson 507-276-0691                                  a.hanson@bcrea.coop
Joel Christensen 507-828-4550                             j.christensen@bcrea.coop                           
Greg Mages 507-794-3540                                   g.mages@bcrea.coop
Reuben Kokesch 507-359-2112                            r.kokesch@bcrea.coop                  
Thomas Hayes 507-228-8954                               t.hayes@bcrea.coop


BCREA Seeking Director Candidates
Retirement creates vacancy in District 8

Brown County REA Directors are cooperative members, just like you. They represent you on the co-op board while responsibly overseeing the business of the co-op and determining strategic direction.

The cooperative model depends on its members to provide leadership and guidance. Each year, Brown County REA holds a director election in three of its nine districts. The election process ensures that every member has a voice in the operation of the cooperative and that any member in good standing may seek election to the Board of Directors.

For the April 2, 2020 Annual Meeting, nominations are being sought for candidates to be on the ballot in BCREA’s Districts 2, 3, and 8.

District 2 consists of Mulligan and Albin townships in Brown County and part of Nelson Township in Watonwan County.  Brad Sprenger is the current District 2 Director. District 3 is made up of Lake Hanska and Linden townships and the City of Hanska in Brown County, plus parts of Riverdale and Madelia townships in Watonwan County.  The present director is Allen Hanson. District 8 includes Ridgley, West Newton, North and South Lafayette townships, portions of Cairo and Severance, plus part of Courtland townships in Nicollet County. Incumbent Director Reuben Kokesch is retiring and will not seek re-election.

If interested in being a candidate please complete and return the director candidate application below. You may also contact a member of your district’s nominating committee. Contact the office for the nominating committee list. Nomination forms must be completed before February 24.

In addition, any 10 or more members residing in the district may submit a nomination for a director in their district through a signed petition, which must be submitted to Board Secretary James Hanson by Fri., March 6. Nominations may also be made at the annual meeting for a member residing in the district by another residing member of the district.

Director Candidate Application

Cooperative By-laws


Brown County REA Staff

Mike Heidemann, Chief Operating Officer - mikeh@bcrea.coop

Darla Ruschen, Office Manager  -  d.ruschen@bcrea.coop

Brandon Havemeier, Operations & Engineering Manager - brandonh@bcrea.coop

Marcia Solie, Member Services Manager -  m.solie@bcrea.coop

Terry Helget, Accountant – t.helget@bcrea.coop

Dorine Wellmann, Customer Service

Cynthia Hansen, Customer Service

Robyn Walter, Operations Secretary

General billing inquiries – bcrea@bcrea.coop


Attachment Size
employment_application.pdf 320.11 KB